Southeast Asia

The Region of Asia that is known and referred to as Indo-China (the mainland SE Asia) and East Indies or Indies until the 20th century. Ten out of eleven states of Southeast Asia are members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), while East Timor is an observer state. The countries in this region are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam (Viet Nam)